Crime Mystery Thriller

Little Lovely Things – Maureen Joyce Connolly (by Beata)

By
on
July 24, 2019
Lovely Little Things Book Cover Lovely Little Things
Maureen Joyce Connelly
Fiction
Sourcebooks Landmark
April 2, 2019
Paperback
304

A mother's chance decision leads to a twist of fate that is every parent's worst nightmare

It is the wrong time to get sick. Speeding down the highway on the way to work, her two little girls sleeping in the back seat, medical resident Claire Rawlings doesn't have time for the nausea overtaking her. But as the world tilts sideways, she pulls into a gas station, runs to the bathroom, and passes out. When she wakes up minutes later, her car--and her daughters--are gone.

The police have no leads, and the weight of guilt presses down on Claire as each hour passes with no trace of her girls. All she has to hold on to are her strained marriage, a potentially unreliable witness who emerges days later, and the desperate but unquenchable belief that her daughters are out there somewhere.

As hopeful and uplifting as it is devastating, Little Lovely Things is the story of a family shattered by unthinkable tragedy, and the unexpected intersection of heartbreak and hope.

Perfect for readers of Watch Me Disappear and After Anna!


A Splendid Debut!

LITTLE LOVELY THINGS is a splendid debut by Ms Connolly full of suspense and emotions, all in a novel that is under 300-pages long. Claire Rawlings is a happily married mother of two, with interesting career prospects, when suddenly a tragedy strikes. Due to some most unfortunate circumstances, Claire’s two little daughters, Lily and Andrea, are kidnapped. What happens next is the most heart-breaking story of the girls’ fate and attempts to find them.

The plot is told through the eyes of several characters: parents, children, abductors, and a Native American, and it spans over several years. I admit it was an unputdownable read for me as each chapter is compelling and charged with emotions. The most amazing thing about this novel for me as a reader was the feeling that while reading I actually related to Claire, Jay and the girls, which surprised me, as usually my heart does not go to more than one character. … I felt for Claire as a mother during her trauma, I loved Andrea’s intelligence and imagination, and I found Jay White, the Native American, a most charming person who brings good spirit to the novel.

LITTLE LOVELY THINGS is definitely a novel that will stay with me for a long long time ….

*Special thank-you to Maureen Joyce Connolly for the signed copy of this book, together with a lovely charm and card. I am looking forward to reading more of your novels in future, Maureen!*

TAGS
Peter Donnelly
Ireland

Founder of The Reading Desk, supporting readers, authors, publishers and book industry. Top Reviewer on Amazon, Goodreads, and NetGalley peter@thereadingdesk.com

Find Reviews
High Quality Honest Reviews
Latest Posts
Latest Tweets