Author:

Margaret Mary

Childrens

The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay – Tommy Piolata

on
July 12, 2019
The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay Book Cover The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay
Tommy Piolata
Childrens
Proving Press
December 4, 2018
Paperback
36

This is the story of a family of unique frogs looking for a better place to live. Their current area of habitat is a mess: the pond where they swim is not only too small for their growing families, but has become rather dirty, as well. The surrounding forest has also become too dangerous for the frog families. One night, a few of the young frogs overhear their parents and the other older frogs talking about the terrible situation and that they need to relocate. So Lia, the oldest of the kid frogs, decides to come up with a plan. She and Dom the Bomb (that's his nickname) gather their relatives and the plan is put into motion. Read along as this group of young frogs teach us the values of courage and perseverance, and that families who stick together can accomplish anything! Long live the Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay!

This is a nice book for children very well presented and the overall idea is great.

The story starts where the young frogs are listening to the adult frogs discuss…

Historical Fiction Thriller

Nucleus – Rory Clements

on
June 12, 2019
Nucleus Book Cover Nucleus
Tom Wilde
Rory Clements
Spy stories
Zaffre
2018
Paperback
448

From the award-winning Sunday Times bestselling author of CORPUS The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no one is safe June 1939. England is partying like there is no tomorrow, gas masks at the ready. In Cambridge the May Balls are played out with a frantic intensity - but the good times won't last... In Europe, the Nazis have invaded Czechoslovakia, and in Germany he persecution of the Jews is now so widespread that desperate Jewish parents send their children to safety in Britain aboard the Kindertransport. Closer to home, the IRA's S-Plan bombing campaign has resulted in more than 100 terrorist outrages around England. But perhaps the most far-reaching event of all goes largely unreported: in Germany, Otto Hahn has produced the first man-made fission and an atomic device is now a very real possibility. The Nazis set up the Uranverein group of physicists: its task is to build a superbomb. The German High Command is aware that British and US scientists are working on similar line. Cambridge's Cavendish Laboratory is where the atom was split in 1932. Might the Cambridge men now win the race for a nuclear bomb? Hitler's generals need to be sure they know all the Cavendish's secrets. Only then will it be safe for Germany to wage war. When one of the Cavendish's finest brains is murdered, Professor Tom Wilde is once more drawn into an intrigue from which there seems no escape. In a conspiracy that stretches from Cambridge to Berlin and from Washington DC to the west coast of Ireland, he faces deadly forces that threaten the fate of the world. Praise for CORPUS 'Dramatic...pacy and assured' Daily Mail 'Political polarisation, mistrust and simmering violence' The Times 'A standout historical novel and spy thriller' Daily Express Praise for RORY CLEMENTS 'Enjoyable, bloody and brutish' Guardian 'Sends a shiver down your spine' Daily Mail 'A colourful history lesson . . . exciting narrative twists' Sunday Telegraph.

Nucleus is the second book in this series and with this book, Rory Clements did an incredibly good job of creating a unique and thrilling fictional piece of work, whilst…

Historical Fiction

Infants of the Brush: A Chimney Sweep’s Story – A.M. Watson (Margaret)

on
November 26, 2018
Infants of the Brush Book Cover Infants of the Brush
A. M. Watson
Fiction
November 18, 2017
294

Infants of the Brush is historical fiction based on Armory v. Delamirie, a 1700s court case before the King's Bench against Paul de Lamerie, a silversmith. In the vein of Charles Dickens' Oliver Twist, Infants of the Brush is set in a time when climbing boys were forced up burning flues to dislodge harmful soot and coal ash.

The Infants of the Brush story takes place during the industrial revolution in England.  It is set in a period of history where children of lower classes were expected…

Nonfiction

A Divided Life – Robert Cecil

on
November 17, 2018
A divided life Book Cover A divided life
Robert Cecil
Biography & Autobiography
William Morrow & Co
1989-02
212

A colleague of Donald MacLean at Cambridge and in the Foreign Office offers insights into the life of the double agent, exploring his motivations and the damage he did to America

In order to really appreciate A Divided Life, you would have to have some awareness of the spy scandal that rocked the heart of the British establishment in the 1950’s,…

History

The Bastard Princess – Gemma Lawrence

on
October 12, 2018
The Bastard Princess Book Cover The Bastard Princess
G. Lawrence
History
Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
May 13, 2015
Kindle
314

February, 1603... In Richmond Palace, London, the last Queen of the Tudor dynasty, Elizabeth I, is dying. As Death hovers at her elbow, waiting for her to obey his call, the aged Queen looks back on her life, and on the trials, victories and sorrows which brought her eventually, to the throne of England. Not quite three years old when her mother, the notorious Queen Anne Boleyn, was arrested and executed on charges of adultery and treason, Elizabeth became a true princess of the Tudor era, in a time when the balance of power, politics and passion were fragile... and the cost of failure was death. Her childhood and teenaged years were fraught with danger as competing factions and ideologies sought to undermine and destroy her in the bid for power at the Tudor court. This is the story of Elizabeth Tudor, last daughter of Henry VIII, and her journey to the throne of England. Told from her own mouth... the tale of the Bastard Princess, who would, one day, become England's greatest Queen. Book One, of the Elizabeth of England Chronicle by G. Lawrence: The Bastard Princess. ISBN: 1517598400 ISBN 13: 9781517598402

The Bastard Princess chronicles the early life of Elizabeth I from birth in 1533 to the age of sixteen and the beginning of the reign of her sister Mary I,…