Author:

Margaret Mary

Interviews

Interview with Joy Metzer – Author of Happy Tails

on
11 May 2020
Interview with Joy Metzer Book Cover Interview with Joy Metzer
Author Interviews
Margaret Mary
The Reading Desk
12 May, 2020


Author Bio
   

Joy Metzer has worked as a professional interior designer for over twenty-five years, spearheading projects both nationally and abroad while cultivating an audience for her writing through several book publications currently available on Amazon, in addition to over one hundred articles posted on LinkedIn under the name Joyce Stacks-Metzer. Though no stranger to real-life portrayals intended to enrich the lives of her readers, this is her first effort at writing a children’s chapter book loosely based upon the private life she shares with her husband in Lead Hill, Arkansas. She attended Texas Christian University, where she studied interior design and economics.

Interview

Margaret: Joy, your book ‘Happy Tails’ is a lovely children’s story with some very important life lessons. I would like to congratulate you on writing it and I am…

Childrens

Happy Tails – Joy Metzer

on
24 April 2020
Happy Tails Book Cover Happy Tails
Joy Metzer
Childrens
Belle Isle Books
20 February 2020
Kindle
220

Jitterbug lives in a modest cabin in the Ozarks of Arkansas. The runt of a litter of dachshunds, she’s hopelessly at odds with her surroundings and can’t help but dream of making a name for herself in the big city. When opportunity knocks, Jitterbug escapes her pet carrier and lands herself in show business. Her impromptu adventure takes her across the country, acting on stage, on TV, and in commercials. But how fabulous is a life of work, work, work? And how long before she starts to miss home?

Happy Tails is a fabulous children’s book targeted primarily at the eight to twelve age group, although a younger audience would also enjoy it. The story is told in the…

Childrens

The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay – Tommy Piolata

on
12 July 2019
The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay Book Cover The Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay
Tommy Piolata
Childrens
Proving Press
December 4, 2018
Paperback
36

This is the story of a family of unique frogs looking for a better place to live. Their current area of habitat is a mess: the pond where they swim is not only too small for their growing families, but has become rather dirty, as well. The surrounding forest has also become too dangerous for the frog families. One night, a few of the young frogs overhear their parents and the other older frogs talking about the terrible situation and that they need to relocate. So Lia, the oldest of the kid frogs, decides to come up with a plan. She and Dom the Bomb (that's his nickname) gather their relatives and the plan is put into motion. Read along as this group of young frogs teach us the values of courage and perseverance, and that families who stick together can accomplish anything! Long live the Five Frogs on Biscuit Bay!

This is a nice book for children very well presented and the overall idea is great.

The story starts where the young frogs are listening to the adult frogs discuss…

Historical Fiction Thriller

Nucleus – Rory Clements

on
12 June 2019
Nucleus Book Cover Nucleus
Tom Wilde
Rory Clements
Spy stories
Zaffre
2018
Paperback
448

From the award-winning Sunday Times bestselling author of CORPUS The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no one is safe June 1939. England is partying like there is no tomorrow, gas masks at the ready. In Cambridge the May Balls are played out with a frantic intensity - but the good times won't last... In Europe, the Nazis have invaded Czechoslovakia, and in Germany he persecution of the Jews is now so widespread that desperate Jewish parents send their children to safety in Britain aboard the Kindertransport. Closer to home, the IRA's S-Plan bombing campaign has resulted in more than 100 terrorist outrages around England. But perhaps the most far-reaching event of all goes largely unreported: in Germany, Otto Hahn has produced the first man-made fission and an atomic device is now a very real possibility. The Nazis set up the Uranverein group of physicists: its task is to build a superbomb. The German High Command is aware that British and US scientists are working on similar line. Cambridge's Cavendish Laboratory is where the atom was split in 1932. Might the Cambridge men now win the race for a nuclear bomb? Hitler's generals need to be sure they know all the Cavendish's secrets. Only then will it be safe for Germany to wage war. When one of the Cavendish's finest brains is murdered, Professor Tom Wilde is once more drawn into an intrigue from which there seems no escape. In a conspiracy that stretches from Cambridge to Berlin and from Washington DC to the west coast of Ireland, he faces deadly forces that threaten the fate of the world. Praise for CORPUS 'Dramatic...pacy and assured' Daily Mail 'Political polarisation, mistrust and simmering violence' The Times 'A standout historical novel and spy thriller' Daily Express Praise for RORY CLEMENTS 'Enjoyable, bloody and brutish' Guardian 'Sends a shiver down your spine' Daily Mail 'A colourful history lesson . . . exciting narrative twists' Sunday Telegraph.

Nucleus is the second book in this series and with this book, Rory Clements did an incredibly good job of creating a unique and thrilling fictional piece of work, whilst…

Historical Fiction

Infants of the Brush: A Chimney Sweep’s Story – A.M. Watson (Margaret)

on
26 November 2018
Infants of the Brush Book Cover Infants of the Brush
A. M. Watson
Fiction
November 18, 2017
294

Infants of the Brush is historical fiction based on Armory v. Delamirie, a 1700s court case before the King's Bench against Paul de Lamerie, a silversmith. In the vein of Charles Dickens' Oliver Twist, Infants of the Brush is set in a time when climbing boys were forced up burning flues to dislodge harmful soot and coal ash.

The Infants of the Brush story takes place during the industrial revolution in England.  It is set in a period of history where children of lower classes were expected…