Author:

Margaret Mary

Historical Fiction

Infants of the Brush: A Chimney Sweep’s Story – A.M. Watson (Margaret)

on
November 26, 2018
Infants of the Brush Book Cover Infants of the Brush
A. M. Watson
Fiction
November 18, 2017
294

Infants of the Brush is historical fiction based on Armory v. Delamirie, a 1700s court case before the King's Bench against Paul de Lamerie, a silversmith. In the vein of Charles Dickens' Oliver Twist, Infants of the Brush is set in a time when climbing boys were forced up burning flues to dislodge harmful soot and coal ash.

The Infants of the Brush story takes place during the industrial revolution in England.  It is set in a period of history where children of lower classes were expected…

Nonfiction

A Divided Life – Robert Cecil

on
November 17, 2018
A divided life Book Cover A divided life
Robert Cecil
Biography & Autobiography
William Morrow & Co
1989-02
212

A colleague of Donald MacLean at Cambridge and in the Foreign Office offers insights into the life of the double agent, exploring his motivations and the damage he did to America

In order to really appreciate A Divided Life, you would have to have some awareness of the spy scandal that rocked the heart of the British establishment in the 1950’s,…

History

The Bastard Princess – Gemma Lawrence

on
October 12, 2018
The Bastard Princess Book Cover The Bastard Princess
G. Lawrence
History
Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
May 13, 2015
Kindle
314

February, 1603... In Richmond Palace, London, the last Queen of the Tudor dynasty, Elizabeth I, is dying. As Death hovers at her elbow, waiting for her to obey his call, the aged Queen looks back on her life, and on the trials, victories and sorrows which brought her eventually, to the throne of England. Not quite three years old when her mother, the notorious Queen Anne Boleyn, was arrested and executed on charges of adultery and treason, Elizabeth became a true princess of the Tudor era, in a time when the balance of power, politics and passion were fragile... and the cost of failure was death. Her childhood and teenaged years were fraught with danger as competing factions and ideologies sought to undermine and destroy her in the bid for power at the Tudor court. This is the story of Elizabeth Tudor, last daughter of Henry VIII, and her journey to the throne of England. Told from her own mouth... the tale of the Bastard Princess, who would, one day, become England's greatest Queen. Book One, of the Elizabeth of England Chronicle by G. Lawrence: The Bastard Princess. ISBN: 1517598400 ISBN 13: 9781517598402

The Bastard Princess chronicles the early life of Elizabeth I from birth in 1533 to the age of sixteen and the beginning of the reign of her sister Mary I,…

Nonfiction

Love is the Answer, God is the Cure – Aimee Cabo Nikolov

on
October 3, 2018
Love is the Answer, God is the Cure Book Cover Love is the Answer, God is the Cure
Aimee Cabo Nikolov
Family & Relationships
August 7, 2018
154

The book is an inspirational love story showing that despite great hardship, and having almost the entire world against you, good things can still happen, but with God's help.

I found this book so compelling, that once I had started I couldn’t put the book down until I had read the last sentence.

The life and experiences of Aimee,…

Nonfiction

Praying for Strawberries – Gail Simpkins

on
September 23, 2018
Praying for Strawberries Book Cover Praying for Strawberries
Gail Simpkins
Nonfiction
US Naval Institute Press
2017-07
354

Have you ever wondered what an Autism Assistance Dog does? Or about the unique perspective of a person living with autism?Through his mother's diary, follow nine-year-old Lachlan's journey with his new friend "Itsal" the Labrador, as they navigate the world together, with Lachlan achieving one of his many dreams and goals - learning to surf!Read about the fantastic improvements Itsal makes to Lachlan's life, and how he strengthens and supports Lachlan and his family. "Praying for Strawberries is a remarkable story of the daily, real-life events of a mother, a child and a family who have been blessed as they travel with each other on a journey where each day unfolds with many surprises not planned for. It is this uncertainty that can be both exhilarating and challenging. The reader will not remain untouched." Trevor R Parmenter AM, Professor EmeritusSydney Medical School, University of Sydney

Praying for Strawberries is an informative diary style book following a year in the life of a family from the perspective of the son, Lachlan, who has Autism. The…