Author:

Mrs Y

Literary Fiction Reviews

Send Judah First by Brian C. Johnson

By
on
14 April 2021
Send Judah First: the Erased Life of an Enslaved Soul Book Cover Send Judah First: the Erased Life of an Enslaved Soul
Brian C. Johnson
Hidden Shelf Publishing House
August 1st 2019
Audiobook
294
NetGalley

A young girl’s life is shattered when she is stolen from her African village in a midnight raid. Ruthlessly torn from her family to be beaten, chained, degraded, and enslaved in a heartless world she can barely comprehend. The slave ledger at Virginia’s Belle Grove Plantation only reveals that Judah was purchased to be the cook, gave birth to 12 children, and died in April 1836. But, like the other 276 faceless names entered in that ledger, Judah lived. Brian C. Johnson’s important work of historical fiction goes beyond what is recorded to portray the depth, humanity, and vulnerability of a beautiful soul all but erased by history. For Judah, as Johnson notes, “did the ultimate—she survived. Not as a weakling, but resilient and determined.”

Sometimes Netgalley sends me emails to tempt me to read or listen to something. I have to thank them for this recommendation. I am so happy that I got…

Contemporary Fiction Womens Fiction

The Dining Car – Eric W. Peterson (Audible Review)

By
on
4 April 2021
The Dining Car Book Cover The Dining Car
Eric Peterson
Fiction
Huckleberry House
2016-11
Audiobook
354
Audible

In search of his true calling, former college football star Jack Marshall enlists as bartender and steward aboard Horace Button's vintage private railroad car, the Pioneer Mother, which is transporting the legendary food writer and social critic across the country in opulent style.

Today’s Audiobook adventure comes from the mind of Eric W. Peterson. Today I’m reviewing “The Dining Car,” and I purchased this myself from Audible. One of the reasons that…

Business Nonfiction Reviews

The Smartest Guys In The Room – Bethany McLean and Peter Elkend (Audible Review)

By
on
27 March 2021
The Smartest Guys in the Room Book Cover The Smartest Guys in the Room
Bethany McLean, Peter Elkind,
Biography & Autobiography
Portfolio Trade
2004
Audio
440

An account of the rise and fall of Enron, written by award-winning Fortune investigative reporters, draws on a wide range of sources while revealing the contributions of lesser-known participants in the scandal. Reprint.

I usually do not review non-fiction if I can avoid it. Life is tough, and I prefer a writer to take me somewhere I cannot imagine in my daily…

Historical Fiction

The Canterbury Murders – E.M Powell (Audible Review)

By
on
19 March 2021
The Canterbury Murders Book Cover The Canterbury Murders
E. M. Powell
Crosshaven Press
10 November 2020
Audible
322

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

Happy Friday, my beautiful friends! I hope you all enjoyed your St. Patrick’s Day. Today I am going to review an Audiobook from one of my favorite authors. When…

Crime Thriller

Wolfman is Back: A Brad Coulter Novel – Dwayne Clayden

By
on
5 March 2020
Wolfman is Back: A Brad Coulter Novel Book Cover Wolfman is Back: A Brad Coulter Novel
Brad Coulter
Dwayne Clayden
Fiction
A Brad Coulter Novel
September 29, 2019
Kindle
366

Jeter Wolfe swore revenge if he escaped from prison-and he has.Detective Brad Coulter knows too well the danger Wolfe presents. When Wolfe was the enforcer of the Gypsy Jokers Motorcycle gang, he held captive and raped and two teens.Would they be his target? What about the female prosecutor and cops? But Wolfe strikes much closer to home-Coulter's home.

Hello again my friends and readers, welcome back to another review by me, Mrs. Y. Today I am reviewing “Wolfman is Back: A Brad Coulter Novel” which is the…