Author:

Peter Donnelly

Crime Thriller

No Way Out – Cara Hunter

on
December 11, 2018
No Way Out Book Cover No Way Out
DI Adam Fawley
Cara Hunter
Crime Thriller
Penguin Book UK / Viking USA
March 19, 2019
Paperback
480

It's one of the most disturbing cases DI Fawley has ever worked. The Christmas holidays, and two children have just been pulled from the wreckage of their burning home in North Oxford. The toddler is dead, and his brother is soon fighting for his life.Why were they left in the house alone? Where is their mother, and why is their father not answering his phone?Then new evidence is discovered, and DI Fawley's worst nightmare comes true.Because this fire wasn't an accident. It was murder.

Resolute

No Way Out is Cara Hunter’s third book in the DI Adam Fawley series and it is every bit as captivating, pacey and clever as the others, if not…

Historical Fiction

New York 1609 – Harald Johnson

on
December 6, 2018
New York 1609: Omnibus Edition
Harald Johnson
Kindle
579

Welcome to New York City, 1609. When a Native American boy joins Henry Hudson’s expedition up the river that now bears his name, the fearless and visionary—and misunderstood—Dancing Fish doesn’t realize his entire world and way of life are in peril. Enthralled at first by these strangers, he begins to discover their dark and dangerous side, touching off a decades-long struggle against determined explorers, aggressive traders, land-hungry settlers, and ruthless officials. If his own people are to survive, the boy-turned-man must use his wits, build alliances, and draw on unique skills to thwart the rising tide of the white “salt people.” Ambition and fear, love and loathing, mutual respect and open contempt bring Europeans and “savages” together in the untold story of the founding of New York City and the fabled island at its heart: Manhattan. (Note: includes the first in-depth depiction of the negotiations and legendary “purchase” of Manhattan in 1626) If you have a passion for the historical fiction of Ken Follett, James Michener, or Edward Rutherfurd, you’ll savor this rich and meticulously researched novel. Based on true events. (This Omnibus Edition includes updated and revised versions of the four short ebooks in The Manhattan Series plus new added content.)

Discovery

New York 1609: A Historical Novel (Omnibus Edition) is a collection of 4 novellas, each covering the following 4 time periods i) 1609 ii) 1612-13 iii) 1625-26 iv) 1640-44, and…

Crime Mystery

The Sicilian Woman’s Daughter – Linda Lo Scuro

on
December 4, 2018
The Sicilian Woman's Daughter Book Cover The Sicilian Woman's Daughter
Linda Lo Scuro
Sparkling Books
October 22, 2018
Kindle
208

Most victims of the mafia are the Sicilians themselves. The role of women both as perpetrators and victims has been grossly overlooked. Until now. As the daughter of Sicilian immigrants, in her teens Maria turns her back on her origins and fully embraces the English way of life. Notwithstanding her troubled and humble childhood in London, and backed up by her intelligence, beauty and sheer determination, she triumphantly works her way up to join the upper middle-class of British society. There she becomes a bastion of civility. But a minor incident wakes up feelings of revenge in her like those lurking in Maria's Sicilian origins. As she delves deeper into her mother's family history a murky past unravels, drawing Maria more and more into a mire of vendetta.

Vendetta

The Sicilian Woman’s Daughter is an engrossing novel with menace accompanying every character, as we weave through a story of lives precariously entwined with the Mafia. There is a simmering…

Historical Fiction

Infants of the Brush: A Chimney Sweep’s Story – A.M. Watson (Peter)

on
November 20, 2018
Infants of the Brush Book Cover Infants of the Brush
A. M. Watson
Fiction
Red Acre Press
November 18, 2017
Kindle
294

Infants of the Brush is historical fiction based on Armory v. Delamirie, a 1700s court case before the King's Bench against Paul de Lamerie, a silversmith. In the vein of Charles Dickens' Oliver Twist, Infants of the Brush is set in a time when climbing boys were forced up burning flues to dislodge harmful soot and coal ash.

Servitude

Infants of the Brush: A Chimney Sweep’s Story is a polished, skilfully written book, which is illuminating, riveting and profoundly heart-breaking. A.M. Watson recreates the atmospheric world of 1720s London…

Literary Fiction Mystery

The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafón

on
November 16, 2018
The Shadow of the Wind Book Cover The Shadow of the Wind
Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Antiquarian booksellers
Orion
2005
510

Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the 'cemetery of lost books', a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out 'La Sombra del Viento' by Julian Carax. But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find. Then, one night, as he is wandering the old streets once more, Daniel is approached by a figure who reminds him of a character from La Sombra del Viento, a character who turns out to be the devil. This man is tracking down every last copy of Carax's work in order to burn them. What begins as a case of literary curiosity turns into a race to find out the truth behind the life and death of Julian Carax and to save those he left behind. A page-turning exploration of obsession in literature and love, and the places that obsession can lead.

Foreboding

“I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time. It was the early summer of 1945, … ‘Daniel you…