Browsing Category

Blog

Latest musings, news, articles, competitions and more!


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Louise Glück wins Nobel Prize for Literature 2020

on
9 October 2020

Louise Glück has published twelve collections of poetry and some volumes of essays on poetry. Glück won the Pulitzer Prize in 1993 for her collection The Wild Iris. Two poems from that collection are shown below.

The Wild Iris

At the end of my sufferingthere was a door.

Hear me out: that…


VIEW POST

View more
Reading Lists

April 2020 Book Choices

on
1 May 2020

The Reading Desk reviewers have selected their favourite book from their March book lists.

Ann – The Philosopher’s Daughter by Alison Booth @booth_alison https://thereadingdesk.com/the-philosophers-daughters-alison-booth/

Barbara – Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie @LuanGoldiehttps://thereadingdesk.com/nightingale-point-luan-goldie/

Beata – Sin Eater by Megan Campisi https://thereadingdesk.com/sin-eater-megan-campisi/

Ceecee – City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert @GilbertLizhttps://thereadingdesk.com/city-of-girls-elizabeth-gilbert/

Gerard – The Split by Sharon…


VIEW POST

View more
Blog Reading Lists

March 2020 Book Choices

on
7 April 2020

The Reading Desk reviewers have selected their favourite book from their March book lists.

Ann – Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain @D_Chamberlainhttps://thereadingdesk.com/big-lies-in-a-small-town-diane-chamberlain/

Barbara – Actress by Anne Enrighthttps://thereadingdesk.com/actress-anne-enright/

Beata – Apeirogon by Colum McCannhttps://thereadingdesk.com/apeirogon-colum-mccann/

Ceecee – Motherland by G.D. Abson @garry_absonhttps://thereadingdesk.com/motherland-g-d-abson/

Gerard – Strangers by C.L. Taylor @callytaylorhttps://thereadingdesk.com/stranger-c-l-taylor/

Margaret – The…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

on
3 April 2020

The 16 book longlist will be reduced to a shortlist of just 6 novels on April 22nd. The 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday 3rd June

Longlist

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara

Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Dominicana by Angie Cruz

Actress by…


VIEW POST

View more
Blog

The Annual Bookend: Volume 2 (2019)

on
28 December 2019

AchievementThis year I set a few goals alongside the general book tally challenge of 100 books. I wanted to read at least two self-published/Indie authors every month, so I can give a little feedback and exposure to authors that need our help. I also wanted to read a wide…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

September Book of the Month Award

on
7 October 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for September Book of the Month Award.

The Lying Room – Nicci French @FrenchNicci Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-lying-room-nicci-french/

Lock Me In – Kate Simants @katesboatBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/lock-me-in-kate-simants/

Dead Flowers – Nicola Monaghan @nicolanovelistBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/dead-flowers-nicola-monaghan/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

August Book of the Month Award

on
7 October 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for August Book of the Month Award.

Night Boat to Tangier – Kevin Barry Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/night-boat-to-tangier-kevin-barry/

The Corpse Played Dead – Georgina Clarke @clarkegeorgina1 Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-corpse-played-dead-georgina-clarke/

Catch the Moon, Mary – Wendy Waters @wa_watersBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/catch-the-moon-mary-wendy-waters/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog Latest News

Booker Prize Shortlist 2019

on
3 September 2019

The six shortlisted books for the 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction have been announced today, 3rd September. A short overview of each book is provided below.

The Testaments – Margaret Atwood

When the van door slammed on Offred’s future at the end of The Handmaid’s Tale, readers had no way of telling…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

July Book of the Month Award

on
12 August 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for July Book of the Month Award

The Chain – Adrian McKinty @adrianmckinty Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-chain-adrian-mckinty/

The Turn of the Key – Ruth Ware @RuthWareWriter Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/turn-of-the-key-ruth-ware/

Truth or Die – Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPenBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/truth-or-die-katerina-diamond/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Booker Prize 2019 Longlist

on
7 August 2019

The Testaments – Margaret Atwood

When the van door slammed on Offred’s future at the end of The Handmaid’s Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead. 

With The Testaments, the wait is over. 

Margaret Atwood’s sequel picks up the story 15 years after Offred stepped into the unknown, with the explosive…

Peter Donnelly
Ireland

Founder of The Reading Desk, supporting readers, authors, publishers and book industry. Top Reviewer on Amazon, Goodreads, and NetGalley peter@thereadingdesk.com

Find Reviews
High Quality Honest Reviews
Latest Tweets