Browsing Category

Awards


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Louise Glück wins Nobel Prize for Literature 2020

on
9 October 2020

Louise Glück has published twelve collections of poetry and some volumes of essays on poetry. Glück won the Pulitzer Prize in 1993 for her collection The Wild Iris. Two poems from that collection are shown below.

The Wild Iris

At the end of my sufferingthere was a door.

Hear me out: that…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

on
3 April 2020

The 16 book longlist will be reduced to a shortlist of just 6 novels on April 22nd. The 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday 3rd June

Longlist

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara

Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Dominicana by Angie Cruz

Actress by…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

September Book of the Month Award

on
7 October 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for September Book of the Month Award.

The Lying Room – Nicci French @FrenchNicci Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-lying-room-nicci-french/

Lock Me In – Kate Simants @katesboatBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/lock-me-in-kate-simants/

Dead Flowers – Nicola Monaghan @nicolanovelistBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/dead-flowers-nicola-monaghan/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

August Book of the Month Award

on
7 October 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for August Book of the Month Award.

Night Boat to Tangier – Kevin Barry Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/night-boat-to-tangier-kevin-barry/

The Corpse Played Dead – Georgina Clarke @clarkegeorgina1 Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-corpse-played-dead-georgina-clarke/

Catch the Moon, Mary – Wendy Waters @wa_watersBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/catch-the-moon-mary-wendy-waters/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog Latest News

Booker Prize Shortlist 2019

on
3 September 2019

The six shortlisted books for the 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction have been announced today, 3rd September. A short overview of each book is provided below.

The Testaments – Margaret Atwood

When the van door slammed on Offred’s future at the end of The Handmaid’s Tale, readers had no way of telling…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

July Book of the Month Award

on
12 August 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for July Book of the Month Award

The Chain – Adrian McKinty @adrianmckinty Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/the-chain-adrian-mckinty/

The Turn of the Key – Ruth Ware @RuthWareWriter Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/turn-of-the-key-ruth-ware/

Truth or Die – Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPenBook review:https://thereadingdesk.com/truth-or-die-katerina-diamond/


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

Booker Prize 2019 Longlist

on
7 August 2019

The Testaments – Margaret Atwood

When the van door slammed on Offred’s future at the end of The Handmaid’s Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead. 

With The Testaments, the wait is over. 

Margaret Atwood’s sequel picks up the story 15 years after Offred stepped into the unknown, with the explosive…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

June Book of the Month Award

on
3 July 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for June Book of the Month Award

I Looked Away – Jane Corry @JaneCorryAuthor Book review:  https://thereadingdesk.com/i-looked-away-jane-corry/ Interview: https://thereadingdesk.com/interview-with-jane-corry-author-of-i-looked-away/

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt – Andrea Bobotis @andreabobotisBook review: https://thereadingdesk.com/the-last-list-of-miss-judith-kratt-andrea-bobotis/

The Whisper Man – Alex North @writer_north Book…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

May Book of the Month Award

on
2 June 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for May Book of the Month Award

Death and the Harlot – Georgina Clarke @clarkegeorgina1Book review:https://thereadingdesk.com/death-and-the-harlot-georgina-clarke/ Interview: https://thereadingdesk.com/interview-with-georgina-clarke-author-of-death-and-the-harlot/

The Devil Aspect – Craig Russell @TheCraigRussell Book review: https://thereadingdesk.com/the-devil-aspect-craig-russell/ Interview: https://thereadingdesk.com/interview-with-craig-russell-author-of-the-devil-aspect/

Furious Hours, Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee – Casey…


VIEW POST

View more
Awards Blog

April Book of the Month Award

on
17 April 2019

3 fabulous books nominated by The Reading Desk for April Book of the Month Award

Little Lovely Things – Maureen Joyce Connolly @MConnollyAuthorBook review: https://thereadingdesk.com/little-lovely-things-maureen-joyce-connolly/ Interview: https://thereadingdesk.com/1682-2/

No Way Out – Cara Hunter @CaraHunterBooksBook review: https://thereadingdesk.com/no-way-out-cara-hunter/ Interview: https://thereadingdesk.com/interview-with-cara-hunter-author-of-no-way-out/

The Lives Before Us – Juliet Conlin @JulietConlinBook…

Peter Donnelly
Ireland

Founder of The Reading Desk, supporting readers, authors, publishers and book industry. Top Reviewer on Amazon, Goodreads, and NetGalley peter@thereadingdesk.com

Find Reviews
High Quality Honest Reviews
Latest Tweets