Crime Mystery Thriller

Truth or Die – Katerina Diamond

on
July 11, 2019
Truth or Die Book Cover Truth or Die
Katerina Diamond
Fiction
Avon Books
July 11, 2019
Paperback
368

'All hail the new Queen of Crime' Heat magazine Let the games begin... When Professor Hugh Norris is found brutally murdered at Exeter university, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles turn to the students for answers. Who would target a seemingly innocent man - and why? Someone knows more than they're letting on - and they're playing a very sinister game. A game so dark, it will shake the university to its core... As another professor is found butchered and the death toll begins to rise, the police have to examine their own pasts to uncover the person behind the killings - before it's too late. But are they brave enough to face up to the truth? The Sunday Times bestseller is back in a twisty new novel, perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons.

Deception

I’ve been a fan of Katrina Diamond since her debut novel, The Teacher, but I believe Truth or Die is her most accomplished work to date. Katrina is not one to wilt away from graphic murder scenes and there’s plenty in this book along with a multi-layered plot that is full of surprises. Nothing is ever as it first seems and there is something deeper than the obvious murders that lurks in the background.

The personal relationship between Imogen Grey and Adrian Miles is developed in an enthralling thread in its own right. This is the fifth book in the series and to do the relationship justice it has taken 5 books to get them both to this particular point. They are extremely close friends that have a tenacious loyalty to each other stemming from lifesaving incidents and shared secrets. Could intimacy develop further or is the fear of losing each other as friends enough to force a distance on their feelings. This is a relationship that isn’t played casually by the author but with thought and careful emotional context.

When a University professor is found with his head brutally smashed in, our two detectives are drawn into another dark twisty criminal investigation. After another 3 University Professors are found brutally murdered and a number of students have died mysteriously from accidents or suicide, there is a disturbing realisation that they are all connected. There is something naggingly familiar with all murder scenes except one and when a message is passed to them saying

They deserved it. Three down, one to go. P.

Imogen and Adrian know who is responsible for the murders of the Professors. They also know with, P, that it’s personal and calculated. The killer is someone they dealt with in earlier books of the series and they’re being asked a difficult question again. How far would you go to obtain justice against an unmerciful and cynical criminal network? Would you step aside and allow a serial killer to take them out? Imogen and Adrian acknowledge they must stop the killer but they also know that creeping underneath is a hidden, menacing group that is surreptitiously orchestrating a deadly criminal game.

The plot is compelling and its complexity is perfectly pitched to keep you guessing while not getting too clever to lose you completely. This is a real talent from Katerina to achieve this level of entertainment, mystery and suspense.

I would highly recommend this book and I’d like to thank Katerina Diamond, Avon Books UK and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC copy in return for an honest review.

TAGS
Peter Donnelly
Ireland

Founder of The Reading Desk, supporting readers, authors, publishers and book industry. Top Reviewer on Amazon, Goodreads, and NetGalley peter@thereadingdesk.com

Find Reviews
High Quality Honest Reviews
Latest Tweets
  • We love you too Erica. Thanks for the shout out but your book deserves to be read by everyone. Shocking and inspira… https://t.co/dgahT1szeb

    Tweeted on 08:58 AM Jul 17

  • Absolutely worth a read - 5 stars from The Reading Desk https://t.co/LcXH9eWSsH

    Tweeted on 06:30 AM Jul 17

  • Great review out today from Peter https://t.co/8kPi02H0AA

    Tweeted on 04:36 AM Jul 16